### Bedfordshire Association of Church Bell Ringers

#### Annual District Meeting

# 13<sup>th</sup> January 2019

- 1. **Chairman's Welcome** Sue welcomed all to the meeting particularly those from Sandy Tower, nice to see them. Thanks for tea, makers of food and the hosts, Biggleswade. Thanks to Colin for taking the service.
- 2. Loss of Members by Death. Mike Orme (non-member), Diana Crick, and Derek Hart.
- Apologies for absence: Tim Blunt (Association Treasurer), John Loveless, Linda Garton, Tony Sharp, Alan Dover, David and Judy Prior, Guy and Kate Scott, Frank Rivett, Philippa Whittington, Alan and Sheila Smith, Philip and Heather Jewell, Alice and Clarrie Scott, Leah Stewart, Liz and Colin McCartney, Sue and Simon Melvin. Sue & Mike Matthews, Shaun Somerville and Mary Mann.
- 4. Minutes of the Annual District Meeting held at Henlow on 13<sup>th</sup> January 2018 -Were passed as a true record, proposed by Terry Brown, seconded Charlotte Smith. A signed copy passed to the Secretary.
- 5. **Matters arising** Ringing Remembers. Many towers took part, Terry has certificates.

Clifton young ringers won a significant prize in the A.R.T. competition, congratulations to them.

6. Election of new members.

	Tower	Proposal	Seconded
Jessica Ramsey	Sandy	Steven Akhurst	Martin Major
Jessica Watts	Sandy	Steven Akhurst	Martin Major
Thalia Lap-Young	Sandy	Steven Akhurst	Martin Major
Emily Bushmead	Sandy	Steven Akhurst	Martin Major
Nathan Endersby	Sandy	Steven Akhurst	Martin Major
John Kearley	Haynes	Brian Oertel	Anthony Smith
Julie Kearley	Haynes	Brian Oertel	Anthony Smith
Joanne Barker	Haynes	Brian Oertel	Anthony Smith
Helen Valentine	Meppershall	Sue Silver	Chris Williams
Sue Chandler	Gt. Barford	Sue Silver	Chris Williams
David Ribbans	Stotfold	Sue Silver	Chris Williams

All were elected members.

Ratification of Penny Sharpe, prior to a peal at Biggleswade on the 1<sup>st</sup> December proposed by Russell Brown seconded by Charlotte Smith. Elected

- 7. Chairman's Report Sue gave her report and a copy is in the minute book.
- 8. Correspondence none.

#### 9. Adoption of Accounts.

a) BRF – Clare Francis presented the accounts. Adoption was proposed by Chris Williams and seconded John Hele. Unanimous.

Membership Accounts – Peter Overfield presented the membership accounts. There are 91 full members, 6 junior members, 5 assoc. members linked to peal attempts during the year. Income was £989.00.

 BRF Ratification of a Grant to Southill – The Committee proposed that a Grant of £150.00 be made towards the cost of the new ropes. This was agreed by the members.

# 11. Election of Officers for 2019 (Committee)

<u>Officers</u>	Proposed <b>Proposed</b>	<u>Seconded</u>
Chairman – Sue Silver	Terry Brown	Anthony Smith
Secretary – Nicky Hele	Terry Brown	Chris Williams
Treasurer – Peter Overfield	Chris Williams	Anthony Smith
Ringing Master – Chris Williams	Anthony Smith	Martin Major
BRF Treasurer – Clare Francis	Charlotte Smith	Lucy Croucher
Committee Members		
Henry Francis	Clare Francis	Anthony Smith
Linda Garton	Martin Major	Clare Francis
Terry Brown	Charlotte Smith	Chris Williams
Charlotte Francis	Anthony Smith	Clare Francis

12. <u>Other Officers</u>	<u>Proposed</u>	<u>Seconded</u>
District BRF Ind Exam – Frank Rivett	Sue Silver	Beth Overfield
Dist. Memb. Acc.t Ind. Exam. – Frank Rivett	Sue Silver	Beth Overfield
RJ Sharp Bell fund. Rep. – Linda Garton	Terry Brown	Beth Overfield
Assoc. Bell Fund Rep. – John Loveless	Peter Overfield	Clare Francis

Sue Silver thanked Mary Mann for all the years of service she has given to examining the District's Accounts.

### 13. Adoption of 2019 ringing programme.

Sue thanked Chris Williams for her years of help in arranging the programme. Henry Francis has taken over and arranged the 2019 programme. Henry brought our attention to the Tempsford meeting which is a different time to most of the meetings.

The Striking Competition has been changed to the 2<sup>nd</sup> Saturday in April. This change has been made to stop clashes and in the hope of encouraging more teams to participate.

14. **Future Events**. Chris Williams is organising the outing this year and stated that the outing last year was a long way to travel and a lovely time was had, and she thanked Alice and Clarrie Scott for arranging it. This year it will be to the Cambridge area, and this will allow those with other commitments to come for the morning or afternoon if time is limited.

The Association AGM will be held at St Pauls Bedford on the 18<sup>th</sup> May.

The next District Committee meeting 24<sup>th</sup> January.

The Association General Committee Meeting will be on the 23<sup>rd</sup> February.

# 15. Any Other Business.

Terry Brown advised that this year marks the 100<sup>th</sup> Anniversary of Womens Institute - 27/9/19. Bell ringers nationally have been approached for celebratory ringing. Liaise with local W.I. to see if you can encourage new ringers that can, in turn, ring on their anniversary.

Tony Sharp, webmaster, and Terry Brown are updating membership information. The records are held in a secure spreadsheet. If you wish to have personal communications let Terry have your email address. Tony and Terry have realised that the membership categories are very complicated, and are looking to review. Terry is proposing to reduce the categories from 7 - 4 plus the legacy life members. This is quite complex and will require several changes to the rules.

It is our District's turn to supply a photo for the cover of the Annual Report. Terry asked if a picture of Ampthill could be sent electronically to her, as this is a tower that has benefitted from a grant from the BRF this year.

This year is the 70<sup>th</sup> Anniversary of the outbreak of the 2<sup>nd</sup> World War. There may be the requests for extra ringing to mark the occasion.

Thanks to Guy for organising the use of local facilities and organising Colin to take the service.

District Striking Competition League – thank you to participating teams.

- 5<sup>th</sup> Cople 4<sup>th</sup> Clifton 3<sup>rd</sup> Campton 2<sup>nd</sup> Biggleswade 1<sup>st</sup> Henlow Martin Major accepted the trophy on behalf of Henlow.
- 16. A vote of thanks from Sue Silver to the committee members, for their time again this year.